Backup+OTA

Can anybody suggest an app for updating all the phone content?
Yesterday I received an OTA update and despite the backup using Meizu tool (desktop backup) I had to reinstall everything by hand…

Titanium and Easy backup require a rooted phone…Root = no OTA updates (?)

Why does root = no OTA updates? It shouldn’t affect that feature correct? Hmmm…

@‘OMGRonnie’ said:

Why does root = no OTA updates? It shouldn’t affect that feature correct? Hmmm…

I have no experience with Meizu but on some phones (like Nubia) OTA updates fail on rooted phones

if you conform that OTA+root is fine, my problem is solved :)

@‘plutus’ said:

if you conform that OTA+root is fine, my problem is solved :)

Ahh and there is the problem… I too am new to Meizu :P I haven’t even received my MX4 yet LOL

I would wait for someone to confirm this before assuming what I say is right. ;)

In the past i had a 3.5.2 rooted and OTA was not working… now working with 3.8.3 unrooted

@‘tony’ said:

In the past i had a 3.5.2 rooted and OTA was not working… now working with 3.8.3 unrooted

ok so it seems that rooting and OTA don’t match…so…how to make a full backup?

Just upgrade and reroot should work?

@‘zztop007’ said:

no, the point is that each upgrade requires a wipe = you lose all your data, settings, etc

Contributor

You can try Helium for backup… But no guarantees…

Most device manufacturers don’t allow OTA for rooted devices.
Cos the moment you root it you have access to change anything in the system partition. If the user has modified some file then not only will the file fail to patch (as the hash won’t match) but if some other part of update relies on a file that is changed you might end up with a boot loop. So OTAs are usually for completely stock firmware. You might be able to get a hold of the update.zip and manually run it in the recovery but it may or may not work…