Installing new firmware (FAQ don't work... for me)

Hello,

I am a little embarrased but I can’t install the new firmware (Flyme OS 4.5.4.2 A) for my Meizu M2 Mini.

I downloaded the file from Meizufans as the FAQ suggests.
I managed to put the update.zip in the Download folder. (Has the same path as in the FAQ)
But when I click on it the only option I get is to extract the update.zip! So option 1 isn’t suited for me (for the files I have)
I tried option 2. I moved the update folder in the root directory. But when I get to the screen where you can choose between firmware updates and data clear, I chose data clear and get the message that no firware is found.

Help, at all who has succesfully installed Flyme OS 4.5.4.2 A with the files provided from Meizufans!

Note: I have no experiences with smartphones. This is my first one, so be a little patient with me. I really need a noobie noob guide.

Kind regards

Contributor

@ano20xx Are you sure that the update.zip is in the root directory? And are you sure that it’s called update.zip ?

Please post a screenshot of the update.zip in your root directory.

@Ultrametric What do I have to press to make a screenshot? …Sry!

Ok.
That is my path for the update.zip (from pc to smartphone):
Computer\m2\Phone storage\Download
Well, when I press Volume Up + Power (trying again and again, moment pls) my phone goes into sleep modus.
Another question (maybe that is the mistake): Is a Sim card necessary for a update.

EDIT: Yeah, I managed a screenshot. Here are the pics after I used option 2:

last edited by ano20xx
Contributor

@ano20xx that’s fine.

Now you just do what is written in the F.A.Q.

Turn off your phone and boot into recovery. This you do by pressing and holding VolumeUP + Power until you see the Meizu logo. As soon you are there you select update + clear data.

And you can not use method 1 of the F.A.Q… Because you bought the phone from a Chinese re-seller and this re-seller manipulated your phone. (That’s a bad thing)