Bootloop - Meizu MX4

Hi all!

First of all I’m new to Meizu and the Flyme OS. I had this phone for about a month. Never updated, never rooted, I don’t even know, what version I was running. The phone was from an official international channel as a demo unit (TCCM Europe to be specific), and it used an international ROM (I had Hungarian language in it).

Here is the thing. I put the phone to the charger one night (may 7th) and in the morning the following happens. The phone vibrates on my nightstand every few seconds. The screen lights up, the Meizu logo comes on, then a vibration, few seconds, and the phone reboots, this in an infinite loop. Maybe it got an OTA update, I don’t know, it was on factory settings. So I take it off the charger, not hot or anything. Tried to press the power button to turn it off. Nothing. Battery can’t be removed, I know that. So I try to figure a way to turn it off. Took out the SIM. Tried to press the Power+VolUp combo. Nothing, there is no recovery menu, or the phone reboots before it could enter into that. The Power+VolDown combo does bring up the fastboot mode thou, but even that will reboot in a few seconds. I had to go to work, so I simply left the phone home, hoping it will run out of battery by the time I get home, and will turn off. Well, little bugger actually took more than a day to finally run our of juice.

There are two possibilities coming to my mind: either I got an OTA upgrade that somehow went awry and damaged the phone, or my power button is broken, permanently pressed in and is causing the reboot. I put the phone on a charger today (may 10th), and in a few miutes the phone turned on and started it’s usual reboot loop, only this time not the Meizu logo, but the Low Battery notification. I disconnected it and waited till it run out of juice again, then pressed the power button. The phone turned on and did a few reboot before shutting off again. From this I think my power button is not physically damaged.